Published: 30.06.10
ETH in-house

ETH Board appoints new professors

At its meeting on 28 and 29 June 2010, the ETH Board appointed 7 new professors to the ETH Zurich.

Press release ETH Board / nsn
(Photo: P. Rueegg / ETH Zurich)
(Photo: P. Rueegg / ETH Zurich) (large view)

Following the application by the President of ETH Zurich, Ralph Eichler, the ETH Board has appointed the following individuals as full professors to the ETH Zurich:

  • Robert J. Flatt (*1969), at present principal scientist and head of Corporate Research on inorganic materials at Sika Technology AG, Zurich, as full professor of Building Materials in Construction. Robert J. Flatt is an expert in the field of rheology (plasticity and flow of matter) of cementitious materials and the conservation of old building materials in cultural heritage buildings. In 2003 he was awarded the Robert L’Hermite Medal in recognition of his contributions to cement and concrete technology.
  • Markus Püschel (*1964), at present Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, USA, as full Professor of Informatics. Markus Püschel’s research interests combine techniques from mathematics, computer science and engineering. His interdisciplinary research will strengthen cooperation between the Department of Informatics and the Swiss National Supercomputing Centre (CSCS).
  • Achim Walter (*1968), at present deputy director of the Institute of Chemistry and Dynamics of the Geosphere, National Research Centre Juelich, Germany, as full Professor of Agronomy and Plant Breeding. Achim Walter is a plant scientist whose current research interests include the production of phytochemicals and plant-based drugs, energy production using plant biomass, and optimal breeding of crop plants adapted to changed climatic conditions.

The following individual has been appointed as associate professor at ETH Zurich:

  • Jürgen Biela (*1974), at present research associate and lecturer in the Department of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering at ETH Zurich, as Associate Professor for Power Electronic Systems. Jürgen Biela is a researcher in the field of power electronics and applications in future smart electrical energy networks. Biela's appointment will further strengthen the cutting-edge position of energy research in the ETH Domain and ETH Zurich’s collaboration with EPFL, the PSI and industry.

The following individual has been appointed as assistant professor:

  • Eleni Chatzi (*1981), at present researcher in the Department of Civil Engineering & Engineering Mechanics at Columbia University in New York, USA, as Assistant Professor of Structural Mechanics. Eleni Chatzi is a civil engineer and specialist in smart structures, smart structure monitoring, and the simulation of damage processes. She received a Raymond D. Mindlin Award for outstanding research in applied solid mechanics as part of her doctoral work.

The ETH Board has appointed the following individuals as tenure track assistant professors:

  • Jonathan Home (*1979), at present post-doctoral researcher at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Boulder, Colorado, as a tenure track Assistant Professor of Experimental Quantum Optics and Photonics. Jonathan Home has done pioneering research in quantum mechanics, quantum information processing and in applications of precisely controllable quantum systems. His professorship will further strengthen the global leadership position of the Institute for Quantum Electronics at ETH Zurich.
  • Vanessa C. Wood (*1983), at present post-doctoral researcher in the Department of Materials Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Boston, as a tenure track Assistant Professor of Nanophotonics and Nanoelectronics. Vanessa C. Wood is a scientist in the field of organic and inorganic nanomaterials with application potential in photovoltaics and the storage of electric energy in batteries. In 2007 she received an Ernst A. Guillemin Thesis Award from the MIT.

Furthermore, the ETH Board has extended the appointments of the following individuals:

  • Michele Parrinello (*1945), Professor of Computational Science at ETH Zurich. His appointment has been extended to the end of 2015. From the beginning of 2011, Michele Parrinello will also hold a dual professorship under the cooperation agreement between ETH Zurich and the University of Lugano (USI). Parrinello is the first researcher to receive the Dirac Medal of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics for research in the field of computational physics.
  • Kurt Wüthrich (*1938), Professor of Biophysics at ETH Zurich. Wüthrich's appointment has been extended to the end of 2013. Kurt Wüthrich received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2002.
Reader comments: